Wednesday , 22 January 2020
Latest News...

Restricted Areas

Restricted Areas of Myanmar


Travelling to Myanmar is exciting. However, there are certain restricted areas in Myanmar where tourists and visitors are not allowed due to various reasons. Find information on the restrictions below.

Rakhine State– prior permission is mandatory for package tours and FITs for ships and motor vehicles to travel to Mrauk Oo Township Lay Myo Chaung area, Pyay-Taung Koke-Pa Dann, Chin Village in Pauk taw township, Am, Kyawk Taw areas ; via Kyawk taw to Paletwa Township in chin State,   and Minn Pyar.

Sagaing Region – visitors on FITs and package tours are permitted to travel to Hkamti on aircraft and ships. However, travelling out of the city is not permitted. Same applies to Homalin and Kalay. Special permission is required to travel to Ye Shan Twin areas, Kyauk Ka Yin Ma Pin, Po Win Taung, Twin Taung, Kalewa, Lashi, Takathi, Butalin, Hpaung Pyin, Minn Kin areas.

Tanintharyi Region– requires prior permission for visitors on package deals and FITs to areas including Ayeyarwady Region, Yangon Region, Bago Region, Magwe Region, and Mandalay Region. Permits are required for all sorts of vehicles on land and water.

Kayah State– only exploring Loikaw is allowed with prior permission through various routes including Hpe Kone, Kalaw, and Pin Laung.

Mon State– All sorts of vehicles can be used to travel to with prior permission through Hto-Thaton-Kyaikmaraw, Thanbyuzayat and Kayikkami and Kyaik Htiyo-Kyaik.

Kayin State– travelling with all sorts of vehicles are allowed with prior permission to townships of Bwe-Kaukareik, Hpa An, Tharminya-Hlaing.

Chin State– visitors on package deals and FITs are allowed to travel to Kennedy Taung, Natmataung (Mt. Victoria) Mindat, Kanpelet, Aye Ywa Sakan (Camp), Haka, Falam, Yum Si (Camp) (8) mile Camp.

River Cruising in Myanmar is allowed only on Delta areas and Mawlamyaing-Hpa An- Mawlamyaing, Mandalay-Bagan,Nyaung Oo-Mandalay, Mandaly-Bamaw-Mandaly, Yangon-Mandalay-Yangon tours toutes.

Shan State (Northern)- Chinese tourists are allowed to travel by land through Kyukoke, Kwan lone, Namkham, Muse, (Chin Shwe Haw, Ho Pan) Checkpoints to Lashio only with entry permit.

Shan State (Eastern) – Thailand visitors with entry permit can enter and leave using the Tachileik, Kyaing Tong and Mailar route. Chinese visitors with entry permit can take the Lar, Kyaing Tong and Tachileik route to enter and leave Mai while Lao PDR visitors with entry permit can take the Wan Pone and Tachileik route to enter and leave Shan.

Kachin State– prior permission and entry permit is mandatory to enter through Laizar checkpoint and travel to Myitkyina only. Myitkyina can also be reached by passing the Kanpeikti Checkpoint with entry pass and permission. Visitors can travel to Bamaw only through Lweji Checkpoint by prior permission and entry pass.

International visitors on FITs (Flexible Image Transport System) and package deals with valid visa require prior permission to enter through border checkpoints, ports and international airports. Special permission is also required to travel to areas like Nam Sam, Loi Lem and Pin Lon Hu for international travelers. Cruise liners and chartered flights must seek special permission to land in Myanmar.

Hpakant, Lewe, takone, Pyinmana and Mogoke are beyond travelling.


thande beach hotel myanmar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top

January 2020
« Nov